Jewish Biographies:
Nobel Prize Laureates

Jewish Biographies: Table of Contents | Jews in Sports | Jewish Parliamentarians

Established by Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel in 1895, the Nobel Prize is a set of annual awards bestowed upon individuals in recognition of cultural and/or scientific advances in six categories - Literature, Chemistry, Economics, Physics, World Peace, and Medicine.

Comparative to it's small size, Israel has produced a disproportionate number of Nobel Prize winners. Academic ranking organization Times Higher Education ranked Israel the fifth best performer this century in terms of Nobel Prizes in August 2015, ranked based on the amount of Nobel Prizes won as well as the significance and prestige of each one. Times Higher Education also ranked global universities based on Nobel Prize winners, and the Technion-Israel Institute of Technology placed eigth, higher on the list than Harvard University and every British University.

Between 1901 and 2013, the Nobel Prize has been awarded to approximately 855 laureates.
At least 193 (22%) of them have been Jewish.


Yitzhak Rabin (right) and Shimon Peres accept the 1994 Nobel Prize in World Peace


World Peace

Israeli mathmatician Robert Israel Aumann (second from right) accepts the 2005 Nobel Prize in Economics


Israeli Dan Schechtman (left) accepts the 2011 Nobel Prize in Chemistry

American Saul Perlmutter poses with the 2011 Nobel Prize in Physics




^ - Pasternak was forced to decline the prize by the Soviet Union
* - Jewish father, non-Jewish mother
° - Anfinsen converted to Judaism later in life; Cori converted to Roman Catholicism

Back to Top