Bookstore Glossary Library Links News Publications Timeline Virtual Israel Experience
Anti-Semitism Biography History Holocaust Israel Israel Education Myths & Facts Politics Religion Travel US & Israel Vital Stats Women
donate subscribe Contact About Home

Jewish Biographies: Congressional Medal of Honor Recipients

The Congressional Medal of Honor is the highest military decoration an American servicemember can receive for outstanding heroism and bravery in battle. It is bestowed by the President upon a soldier in any of the branches of the U.S. Armed Forces who distinguish themselves through "conspicuous gallantry and intrepidity at the risk of his or her life above and beyond the call of duty."

The Medal of Honor has been awarded to 3,459 servicemembers.
At least 16 Jewish soldiers have been awarded the medal.

American Civil War
Abraham Cohn
Leopold Karpeles
Benjamin Levy
David Urbansky

Samuel Gross (aka Marguilies)

Indian Wars
Simon Suhler (aka Charles Gardner)

World War I
Sydney G. Gumpertz
Benjamin Kaufman
William Sawelson
William Shemin

World War II
Isadore S. Jachman
Ben Salomon
Raymond Zussman

Korean War
Leonard M. Kravitz
Tibor Rubin

Vietnam War
Jack H. Jacobs
John L. Levitow

War in Afghanistan
Christopher Celiz

Sources: Jewish Recipients of the Congressional Medal of Honor;
Seymour "Sy" Brody;
Bryan Rigg, Flamethrower, Fidelis Historia, (March 19, 2020).
Congressional Medal of Honor Society.
National Museum of American Jewish Military History.