Bookstore Glossary Library Links News Publications Timeline Virtual Israel Experience
Anti-Semitism Biography History Holocaust Israel Israel Education Myths & Facts Politics Religion Travel US & Israel Vital Stats Women
donate subscribe Contact About Home

Israel Cabinet & Ministers: Thirty-First Government

(May 4, 2006 - March 31, 2009)


Shimon Peres — President of the State of Israel

Cabinet Ministers

Ehud Olmert - Prime Minister

Tzipi Livni - Vice Prime Minister, Minister of Foreign Affairs

Haim Ramon - Vice Primer Minister, Minister without Portfolio

Ehud Barak - Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Defense

Avigdor Liberman - Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Strategic Affairs

Eli Yishai - Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Industry, Trade and Labor

Shaul Mofaz - Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Transportation and Road Safety

Daniel Friedmann - Minister of Justice

Avi Dichter - Minister of Public Security

Raleb Majadele - Minister of Sciences, Culture and Sports

Roni Bar-On - Minister of Finance

Yaakov Edri - Minister for the Development of the Negev and the Galilee, Minister of Immigrant Absorption

Ariel Atias - Minister of Communications

Rafi Eitan - Minister Responsible for Pensioners

Zeev Boim - Minister of Housing and Construction

Binyamin Ben-Eliezer - Minister of National Infrastructures

Yaakov Ben-Yizri- Minister of Health

Yitzhak Herzog - Minister of Welfare and Social Services, Minister of the Diaspora, Society, and Fight Against Antisemitism

Yitzhak Cohen - Minister without Portfolio (responsible for the religious councils)

Meshulam Nahari - Minister without Portfolio

Gideon Ezra - Minister of of Environmental Protection

Meir Sheetrit - Minister of the Interior

Shalom Simhon - Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development

Yuli Tamir - Minister of Education

Yitzhak Aharonovitch - Minister of Tourism

Ruhama Avraham - Minister without Portfolio (responsible for liaison with the Knesset)

Ami Ayalon - Minister without Portfolio

Senior Government Officials

Dalia Itzik- Speaker of the Knesset
Dorit Beinisch - President of the Supreme Court
Micha Lindenstrauss - State Comptroller and Ombudsman
Lieutenant-General Gabi Ashkenazi - IDF Chief of General Staff
Menachem Mazuz - Attorney General
Stanley Fischer - Governor of the Bank of Israel
Rabbi Shlomo Amar - Sephardi Chief Rabbi
Rabbi Yona Metzger - Ashkenazi Chief Rabbi

Sources: Israeli Foreign Ministry