Bookstore Glossary Library Links News Publications Timeline Virtual Israel Experience
Anti-Semitism Biography History Holocaust Israel Israel Education Myths & Facts Politics Religion Travel US & Israel Vital Stats Women
donate subscribe Contact About Home

Israel Cabinet & Ministers: Twenty-Eighth Government

(May 18, 1999-March 7, 2001)

Ehud Barak — Prime Minister and Minister of Defense; also holding the Agriculture, Science, Tourism and Absorption portfolios

Yossi Beilin — Minister of Justice

Shlomo Ben-Ami — Minister of Public Security

Benjamin Ben-Eliezer — Minister of Communications

Shlomo Benizri — Minister of Health

Ran Cohen — Minister of Industry and Trade

Yitzhak Cohen — Minister of Religious Affairs

Dalia Itzik — Minister of the Environment

David Levy — Minister of Foreign Affairs

Yitzhak Levy — Minister of Housing

Amnon Lipkin-Shahak — Minister of Tourism

Michael Melchior — Minister without Portfolio, responsible for Diaspora Jewry

Yitzhak Mordechai — Minister of Transport

Chaim Oron — Minister of Agriculture

Shimon Peres — Minister of Regional Cooperation

Haim Ramon — Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister, responsible for Jerusalem Affairs

Yossi Sarid — Minister of Education

Natan Sharansky — Minister of the Interior

Avraham Shochat — Minister of Finance

Eli Suissa — Minister of National Infrastructures

Yuli Tamir — Minister of Absorption

Matan Vilnai — Minister of Science

Eliyahu Yishai — Minister of Labor and Social Affairs

Senior Government Officials

Avraham Burg, MK — Speaker of the Knesset

Aharon Barak — President of the Supreme Court

Eliezer Goldberg — State Comptroller and Public Complaints Commissioner

Lieutenant-General Shaul Mofaz — IDF Chief of General Staff

Yehuda Wilk — Commissioner of Police

Ya'akov A. Frenkel — Governor of the Bank of Israel

Elyakim Rubinstein — Attorney General

Rabbi Eliyahu Bakshi Doron — Sephardi Chief Rabbi

Rabbi Israel Meir Lau — Ashkenazi Chief Rabbi

Sources: Israeli Foreign Ministry