Bookstore Glossary Library Links News Publications Timeline Virtual Israel Experience
Anti-Semitism Biography History Holocaust Israel Israel Education Myths & Facts Politics Religion Travel US & Israel Vital Stats Women
donate subscribe Contact About Home

Israel Cabinet & Ministers: Thirty-Second Government

(March 31, 2009 - March 18, 2013)

Head of State

Shimon Peres President of the State of Israel


Benjamin Netanyahu Prime Minister; Minister of Economic Strategy; Minister of Pensioner Affairs; Minister of Health
Silvan Shalom Vice Prime Minister; Minister for Regional Development; Minister of Development of the Negev and the Galilee
Moshe Ya'alon Vice Prime Minister; Minister of Strategic Affairs
Ehud Barak Deputy Prime Minister; Minister of Defense
Avigdor Liberman Deputy Prime Minister; Minister of Foreign Affairs
Dan Meridor Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Intelligence and Atomic Energy
Eliyahu Yishai Deputy Prime Minister; Minister of the Interior
Yitzhak Aharonovitch Minister of Internal Security
Ariel Atias Minister of Housing and Construction 
Ze'ev "Benny" Begin Minister without Portfolio
Shalom Simhon Minister of Industry, Trade and Labor; Minister of Minorities
Yuli Edelstein Minister of Information and Diaspora Affairs
Michael Eitan Minister of Improvement of Government Services
Gilad Erdan Minister of Environmental Protection
Daniel Hershkowitz Minister of Science and Technology
Moshe Kahlon Minister of Welfare and Social Affairs; Minister of Communications
Yisrael Katz Minister of Transportation and Road Safety
Uzi Landau Minister of National Infrastructure
Sofa Landver Minister of Immigration Absorption
Limor Livnat Minister of Culture and Sport
Yakov Margi Minister of Religious Services
Stas Misezhnikov Minister of Tourism
Meshulam Nahari Minister without Portfolio
Yaakov Neeman
Minister of Justice
Yossi Peled Minister without Portfolio
Gideon Sa'ar Minister of Education
Yuval Steinitz Minister of Finance
Orit Noked Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development
Avi Dichter Minister of Home Front Defense

Deputy Ministers

Ayoob Kara Deputy Minister of the Development of the Negev and Galilee
Meir Porush Deputy Minister of Education
Yitzhak Cohen Deputy Minister of Finance
Daniel Ayalon Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs
Yaakov Litzman Deputy Minister of Health
Lea Nass Deputy Minister of Pensioner Affairs
Gila Gamliel Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister's Office

Senior Government Officials

Reuven Rivlin Speaker of the Knesset
Dorit Beinisch President of the Supreme Court 
Micha Lindenstrauss State Comptroller and Ombudsman
Stanley Fischer Governor of the Bank of Israel
Benny Gantz IDF Chief of General Staff
Menachem Mazuz Attorney General
Rabbi Shlomo Amar Sephardi Chief Rabbi
Rabbi Yona Metzger Ashkenazi Chief Rabbi

Former Ministers:

Avishay Braverman - Labor - Minister of Minorities (Resigned, January 2011)

Isaac Herzog - Labor - Minister of the Diaspora, Society, & the Fight Against AntiSemitism (Resigned, January 2011)

Benjamin Ben-Eliezer - Labor - Minister of Industry, Trade, & Labor (Resigned, January 2011)

Matan Vilnai - Independence - Minister of Home Front Defense (Appointed Ambassador to China, February 2012)

Sources: Israeli Foreign Ministry