Bookstore Glossary Library Links News Publications Timeline Virtual Israel Experience
Anti-Semitism Biography History Holocaust Israel Israel Education Myths & Facts Politics Religion Travel US & Israel Vital Stats Women
donate subscribe Contact About Home

Prime Ministers of Israel

(1948 - Present)

The Prime Minister of Israel is the head of the Israeli government and chief executive of the state.
Prime Ministers are elected for four-year terms, but the Knesset can dissolve and call new elections at any time. This has been done on several occasions, which explains why some prime ministers served less than four years.


Years in Service

Benjamin Netanyahu (2022 -
Yair Lapid (2022 - 2022)
Naftali Bennett (2021 - 2022)

Benjamin Netanyahu

(2009 - 2021)

Ehud Olmert


Ariel Sharon


Ehud Barak


Benjamin Netanyahu


Shimon Peres


Yitzhak Rabin


Yitzhak Shamir


Shimon Peres


Yitzhak Shamir


Menachem Begin


Yitzhak Rabin


Golda Meir


Levi Eshkol


David Ben-Gurion


Moshe Sharett


David Ben-Gurion