Bookstore Glossary Library Links News Publications Timeline Virtual Israel Experience
Anti-Semitism Biography History Holocaust Israel Israel Education Myths & Facts Politics Religion Travel US & Israel Vital Stats Women
donate subscribe Contact About Home

Israel Cabinet & Ministers: Twenty-Ninth Government

(March 7, 2001 - February 28, 2003)

Cabinet Ministers

Prime Minister and Minister of Immigrant Absorption: Ariel Sharon (Likud)
With the resignation of the Labor ministers which entered to effect on November 2, 2002 he also holds the Agriculture, Industry and Trade, Transportation, and Science, Culture and Sport Portfolios
Foreign Minister: Benjamin Netanyahu (Likud)
Finance Minister and Deputy Prime Minister: Silvan Shalom (Likud)
Interior Minister and Deputy Prime Minister: Eli Yishai (Shas)
Housing and Construction Minister and Deputy Prime Minister: Natan Sharansky (Yisrael b'Aliyah)
Defense Minister: Shaul Mofaz (Likud)
Justice Minister: Meir Sheetrit (Likud)
Education Minister: Limor Livnat (Likud)
Public Security Minister: Uzi Landau (Likud)
Communication Minister: Reuven Rivlin (Likud)
Environment Minister: Tzachi Hanegbi (Likud)
Minister without Portfolio, responsible for coordination between the government and the Knesset: Danny Naveh (Likud)
Minister For Regional Cooperation: Tzipi Livni (Likud)
Labor and Social Affairs Minister: Shlomo Benizri (Shas)
Health Minister: Nissim Dahan (Shas)
Jerusalem Affairs Minister: Eli Suissa (Shas)
National Infrastructure Minister: Efraim Eitam (NRP)
Tourism Minister: Yitzhak Levy (NRP)
Religious Affairs Minister: Asher Ohana (Shas)
Minister without Portofolio, Dan Meridor (Center)
Minister for Regional Cooperation,
Roni Milo (Center)

Deputy Ministers:

David Azoulay, Deputy Minister of the Interior (Shas)
Naomi Blumenthal, Deputy Minister of National Infrastructures (Likud)
Yitzhak Cohen, Deputy Minister of Finance (Shas)
Yuli Edelstein, Deputy Immigration Absorption Minister (Yisrael b'Aliyah),
Gideon Ezra, Deputy Minister of Public Security (Likud)
Meshulam Nahari, Deputy Education Minister (Shas)
Meir Porush, Deputy Minister of Housing and Construction (United Torah Judaism)
Avraham Ravitz, Deputy Minister of Education (United Torah Judaism)
Yitzhak Vaknin, Deputy Minister of Labor and Social Welfare (Shas)

Senior Government Officials

Avraham Burg, MK - Speaker of the Knesset
Aharon Barak - President of the Supreme Court
Eliezer Goldberg - State Comptroller and Public Complaints Commissioner
Lieutenant-General Moshe Ya'alon - IDF Chief of General Staff
Shlomo Aharonishki - Commissioner of Police
Elyakim Rubinstein - Attorney General
David Klein - Governor of the Bank of Israel
Rabbi Eliyahu Bakshi Doron - Sephardi Chief Rabbi
Rabbi Israel Meir Lau - Ashkenazi Chief Rabbi

Sources: Israeli Foreign Ministry