Bookstore Glossary Library Links News Publications Timeline Virtual Israel Experience
Anti-Semitism Biography History Holocaust Israel Israel Education Myths & Facts Politics Religion Travel US & Israel Vital Stats Women
donate subscribe Contact About Home

Israel Cabinet & Ministers: Thirteenth Government

(January 12, 1966 - March 17, 1969)

On June 4, 1967, Levi Eshkol formed a National Unity Government, co-opting Moshe Dayan as Minister of Defense and Menahem Begin and Yosef Saphir as ministers without portfolio. Eshkol died in office on February 26, 1969 of a heart attack; Golda Meir served as acting Prime Minister until the formation of the 14th Government on March 17, 1969.

Yigal Allon, Minister of Labor

Zalman Aranne, Minister of Education and Culture

Mordechai Bentov, Minister of Housing

Israel Barzilai, Minister of Health

Yosef Burg, Minister of Social Welfare

Moshe Carmel, Minister of Transport

Abba Eban, Foreign Minister

Levi Eshkol, Prime Minister and Minister of Defense

Israel Galili, Minister without Portfolio

Haim Gvati, Minister of Agriculture

Moshe Kol, Minister of Tourism

Pinhas Sapir, Minister of Finance

Eliahu Sasson, Minister of Posts

Haim Moshe Shapira, Minister of Interior

Behor Shalom Shitrit, Minister of Police

Zalman Shazar, Third President

Ya’acov Shimshon Shapira, Minister of Justice

Zerah Warhaftig, Minister of Religious Affairs

Haim Zadok, Minister of Trade and Industry

Sources: Israeli Foreign Ministry