Bookstore Glossary Library Links News Publications Timeline Virtual Israel Experience
Anti-Semitism Biography History Holocaust Israel Israel Education Myths & Facts Politics Religion Travel US & Israel Vital Stats Women
donate subscribe Contact About Home

Jews in the Biden Administration

Joe Biden was sworn in as the 46th president of the United States on January 20, 2021.

Aaron Keyak Deputy Envoy to Monitor and Combat Anti-Semitism
Alan Leventhal U.S. Ambassador to Denmark
Alejandro Mayorkas Secretary of Homeland Security
Amos Hochstein Bureau of Energy Resources Special Envoy
Amy Gutmann U.S. Ambassador to Germany
Anne Neuberger Deputy National Security Adviser for Cybersecurity
Avril Haines Director of National Intelligence
Constance Milstein U.S. Ambassador to Malta
Dan Shapiro Adviser on Iran (2021-2023), Senior Advisor for Regional Integration (2023), Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Middle East Policy (2023-2024)
Daniel Rosenblum U.S. Ambassador to Kazakhstan
David Cohen CIA Deputy Director 
David Cohen U.S. Ambassador to Canada
David Kessler Co-chair of the COVID-19 Advisory Board and Head of Operation Warp Speed
David Pressman U.S. Ambassador to Hungary
Deborah Lipstadt Special Envoy to Monitor and Combat Anti-Semitism
Edward Siskel White House Counsel
Ellen Germain U.S. Special Envoy for Holocaust Issues
Eric Garcetti U.S. Ambassador to India
Eric Lander Science and Technology Adviser
Gary Gensler Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) Chairman*
Genine Macks Fidler  National Council on the Humanities
Jack Lew U.S. Ambassador to Israel (replaced Thomas Nides)
Jack Markell U.S. Ambassador to Italy and San Marino
Janet Yellin Secretary of Treasury
Jared Bernstein Council of Economic Advisers
Jed Kolko Under Secretary of Commerce for Economic Affairs at the Department of Commerce
Jeffrey Zients COVID-19 Response Coordinator (2021-2023), Chief of Staff (2023)
Jennifer Klein Co-chair Council on Gender Policy
Jessica Rosenworcel Chair of the Federal Communications Commission
Jonathan Kanter Assistant Attorney General in the United States Department of Justice Antitrust Division
Jonathan Kaplan U.S. Ambassador to Singapore
Mandy Cohen Director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (2023) replaced Rochelle Walensky
Marc Nathanson U.S. Ambassador to Norway
Marc Ostfield U.S. Ambassador to Paraguay
Marc Stanley U.S. Ambassador to Argentina
Mark Gitenstein U.S. Ambassador to the European Union
Merrick Garland Attorney General
Michael Adler U.S. Ambassador to Belgium
Michèle Taylor U.S. Representative to the United Nations Human Rights Council
Mira Resnick State Department Deputy Assistant Secretary for Regional Security
Ned Price** State Department Spokesperson
Polly Trottenberg Deputy Secretary of Transportation
Rachel Levine Deputy Health Secretary
Rahm Emanuel U.S. Ambassador to Japan
Randi Charno Levine U.S. Ambassador to Portugal
Roberta Jacobson National Security Council “border czar”
Rochelle Walensky Director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (2021 - resigned July 2023)
Ron Klain Chief of Staff (2021-2023), replaced by Jeffrey Zients
Sharon Kleinbaum Commissioner of the United States Commission on International Religious Freedom
Shelley Greenspan White House liaison to the Jewish community
Stephanie Pollack Deputy Administrator of the Federal Highway Administration (resigned February 2023)
Steven Dettelbach Director of the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives 
Stuart Eizenstat Special Adviser on Holocaust Issues
Tony Blinken Secretary of State
Wendy Sherman Deputy Secretary of State (resigned July 2023) 
Yael Lempert U.S. Ambassador to Jordan

*Nominated by Biden but serves a five-year term and not technically a member of the administration.
**Price has a Jewish father and Christian mother and identifies as Jewish.