Bookstore Glossary Library Links News Publications Timeline Virtual Israel Experience
Anti-Semitism Biography History Holocaust Israel Israel Education Myths & Facts Politics Religion Travel US & Israel Vital Stats Women
donate subscribe Contact About Home

Senate Vote on FY1999 Foreign Aid Bill

The Senate passed the Foreign Operations Appropriations bill for FY1999 on September 2 by a vote of 90 to 3. The bill, which earmarks $1.08 billion in Economic Support Funds (ESF), and $1.86 billion in Foreign Military Funding (FMF) to Israel marks the Senate's adoption of Israel’s proposed ten-year plan to eliminate its dependence on U.S. economic assistance. The bill also provides a $70 million earmark for refugee assistance in Israel.

The bill reduces Egypt's ESF by $40 million, earmarking $775 million for ESF and $1.3 billion for FMF.

The legislation extends the prohibition on direct assistance to the Palestinian Authority and prohibits aid to Russia, unless the President determines that it has ceased all cooperation with Iran on the construction of its nuclear reactor or missile capability.

The measure also includes amendments:

  • Opposing any further changes in U.S. policy towards Iran until Iran discontinues its support for terrorism and its opposition to the peace process;

  • Urging the UN to maintain its inspection regime in Iraq;

  • Expressing the sense of the Senate that the U.S. must actively promote Israel's membership in the UN's Western European and Others Group (WEOG), and requiring a semi-annual report on the response of the Western Europeans to the U.S. request; and

  • Prohibiting any funding to the Palestinian Broadcast Corporation because it has engaged in anti-Israel programming.


Spencer Abraham (R-MI)
Daniel Akaka (D-HI)
Wayne Allard (R-CO)
John Ashcroft (R-MO)
Max Baucus (D-MT)
Robert Bennett(R-UT)
Joseph Biden Jr. (D-DE)
Christopher Bond (R-MO)
Barbara Boxer (D-CA)
John Breaux (D-LA)
Sam Brownback (R-KS)
Richard Bryan (D-NV)
Dale Bumpers (D-AR)
Conrad Burns(R-MT)
Ben Nighthorse Campbell (R-CO)
John Chafee (R-RI)
Max Cleland(D-GA)
Dan Coats (R-IN)
Thad Cochran (R-MS)
Susan Collins (R-ME)
Kent Conrad (D-ND)
Larry Craig (R-ID)
Alfonse D'Amato(R-NY)
Thomas Daschle (D-SD)
Mike DeWine (R-OH)
Christopher Dodd (D-CT)
Byron Dorgan (D-ND)
Richard Durbin (D-IL)
Michael Enzi (R-WY)
Russ Feingold (D-WI)
Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)
Wendell Ford (D-KY)
Bill Frist (R-TN)
Slade Gorton (R-WA)
Bob Graham (D-FL)
Phil Gramm (R-TX)
Rod Grams (R-MN)
Charles Grassley (R-IA)
Judd Gregg (R-NH)
Chuck Hagel(R-NE)
Tom Harkin (D-IA)
Orrin Hatch (R-UT)
Ernest Hollings (D-SC)
Tim Hutchinson (R-AR)
Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX)


Robert Byrd (D-WV)
Lauch Faircloth (R-NC)
Robert Smith (R-NH)

Not Voting-7

Jeff Bingaman (D-NM)
Paul Coverdell (R-GA)
Pete Domenici (R-NM)
John Glenn (D-OH)
Jesse Helms (R-NC)
Daniel Inouye (D-HI)
Frank Murkowski (R-AK)

James Inhofe (R-OK)
Jim Jeffords (R-VT)
Tim Johnson (D-SD)
Dirk Kempthorne (R-ID)
Edward M. Kennedy (D-MA)
Robert Kerrey (D-NE)
John Kerry (D-MA)
Herbert Kohl (D-WI)
Jon Kyl (R-AZ)
Mary Landrieu (D-LA)
Frank Lautenberg (D-NJ)
Patrick Leahy (D-VT)
Carl Levin (D-MI)
Joseph Lieberman (D-CT)
Trent Lott (R-MS)
Richard Lugar (R-IN)
Connie Mack (R-FL)
John McCain (R-AZ)
Mitch McConnell (R-KY)
Barbara Mikulski (D-MD)
Carol Moseley-Braun (D-IL)
Daniel Moynihan (D-NY)
Patty Murray (D-WA)
Don Nickles (R-OK)
Jack Reed (D-RI)
Harry Reid (D-NV)
Charles Robb (D-VA)
Pat Roberts (R-KS)
John Rockefeller IV (D-WV)
William Roth Jr. (R-DE)
Rick Santorum (R-PA)
Paul Sarbanes (D-MD)
Jeff Sessions (R-AL)
Richard Shelby (R-AL)
Gordon Smith (R-OR)
Olympia Snowe (R-ME)
Arlen Specter (R-PA)
Ted Stevens (R-AK)
Craig Thomas (R-WY)
Fred Thompson (R-TN)
Strom Thurmond (R-SC)
Robert Torricelli (D-NJ)
John Warner (R-VA)
Paul David Wellstone (D-MN)
Ron Wyden (D-OR)