Bookstore Glossary Library Links News Publications Timeline Virtual Israel Experience
Anti-Semitism Biography History Holocaust Israel Israel Education Myths & Facts Politics Religion Travel US & Israel Vital Stats Women
donate subscribe Contact About Home

Bernard Malamud


Bernard Malamud was born on April 26, 1914, in Brooklyn, New York. Malamud began writing while still in school at Erasmus High, publishing his first story in the school literary magazine. He attended the City College of New York, receiving a B.A. in 1936, following with a master's in literature from Columbia University. He took a teaching position at Erasmus, but in 1949 was offered a teaching position at the University of Oregon, where he remained for twelve years. It was there that Malamud published his first four novels. Then in 1961, he became a professor at Bennington College and spent the remainder of his teaching career there.

Maladmud is most renowned for his short stories, oblique allegories often set in a dreamlike urban ghetto of immigrant Jews. His prose, like his settings, is an artful parody of Yiddish-English locutions, punctuated by sudden lyricism.

Malamud’s first novel The Natural, published in 1952, is about a superhumanly baseball player who goes on an exploration of the Grail myth. Later the novel was made into a movie starring Robert Redford. The Magic Barrel (1958) won a National Book Award and established him as one of the best short-story writers. The Fixer, his best-known novel, won the National Book Award in 1966 and the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction. Among his other novels were The Assistant (1957), set in a Jewish grocer in New York, and Dubin’s Lives (1979), a powerful evocation of middle age which uses biography to re-create the narrative richness of its protagonists’ lives.

Malamud's works include:

The Natural (1952)
The Assistant (1957)
The Magic Barrel (1958)
A New Life (1961)
Idiots First (1963)
The Fixer (1966)
Pictures of Fidelman (1969)
The Tenants (1971)
Rembrandt's Hat (1974)
Dubin's Lives (1979)
God's Grace (1982)
The Stories of Bernard Malamud (1983)
The People and Uncollected Stories (1989)
The Complete Stories (1997)
The Mourners

Malamud died on March 18, 1986. His daughter, Janna Malamud Smith, relates her memories of her father in her memoir, My Father is a Book.

Sources: “Bernard Malamud (1914 - 1986).” American Jewish Historical Society, American Jewish Desk Reference, (NY: Random House, 1999). pg. 540.