Bookstore Glossary Library Links News Publications Timeline Virtual Israel Experience
Anti-Semitism Biography History Holocaust Israel Israel Education Myths & Facts Politics Religion Travel US & Israel Vital Stats Women
donate subscribe Contact About Home

UN General Assembly Resolutions: Resolution 43/49

(December 2, 1988)

The General Assembly,

Recalling its resolution 43/48 of 30 November 1988, in which, inter alia, it urged the host country to abide scrupulously by the provisions of the Agreement between the United Nations and the United States of America regarding the Headquarters of the United Nations, dated 26 June 1947 1/ and to reconsider and reverse its decision to deny the visa requested for Mr. Yasser Arafat, Chairman of the Executive Committee of the Palestine Liberation Organization,

Having considered the report of the Secretary-General of 1 December 1988 2/ in which it is stated that the host country informed him that it saw "no basis for changing our decision",

Affirming the right of persons mentioned in section 11 of the Agreement to enter the United States of America without any impediment for the purpose of transit to or from the headquarters district,

1. Deplores the failure of the host country to respond favourably to the request of the General Assembly contained in its resolution 43/48;

2. Decides, in the present compelling circumstances and without prejudice to normal practice, to consider the question of Palestine, item 37 of the agenda of the forty-third session of the General Assembly, in plenary, at the United Nations Office at Geneva during the period from 13 to 15 December 1988;

3. Requests the Secretary-General to make the necessary arrangements for the implementation of the present resolution, and authorizes him to adjust the schedule of meetings at the United Nations Office at Geneva during those days as required.

* * *

1/ See resolution 169 (II).

2/ A/43/909.



In favour: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burma, Burundi, Byelorussia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba, Cyprus, Czechoslovakia, Democratic Kampuchea, Democratic Yemen, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gabon, Gambia, German Democratic Republic, Federal Republic of Germany, Ghana, Greece, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kuwait, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Somalia, Spain, Sri Lanka, St. Kitts and Nevis, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Syria, Thailand, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, USSR, United Arab Emirates, United Republic of Tanzania, Uruguay, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Yemen, Yugoslavia, Zaire, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Against: Israel, United States.

Abstaining: United Kingdom.

Absent: Dominica.

Sources: The United Nations