Hamas Presents New Cabinet

(March 21, 2006)

Palestinian Authority Prime Minister designate Ismail Haniyeh presented current Prime Minister Mahmoud Abbas with a list of new cabinet members. The new cabinet is made exclusively of Hamas candidates, as no other factions were presented on the list. Abbas acknowledged that he received the list, and that the next step would be to convene the Palestinian Legislative Council for a vote of confidence. The cabinet consists of 24 ministers from the West Bank and Gaza, with one woman and one Christian representative.
  • Ismail Haniyeh: prime minister and minister of sport
  • Nasser Eddin al-Shaab: deputy prime minister and minister of higher education:
  • Mahmoud Zahar: foreign minister
  • Saeed Siyam: interior and civil affairs
  • Omar Abdel Razik: finance
  • Ziad Zazza: public affairs
  • Bassem Naim: housing
  • Naib Rajoub: religious affairs
  • Mariam Saleh: women
  • Tannous Abu Ita: tourism
  • Fakr Turkman: welfare
  • Samir Abu Isa: planning
  • Alla al-Arag: economy
  • Abdel Rachman Vedan: transportation
  • Jamal Houdari: communication
  • Ahmed Halbi: justice
  • Mohammed Agha: agriculture
  • Yusef Regka: information
  • Abdullah Abu Subah: culture
  • Wafi Kavhe: regional affairs
  • Aisa Jabari: local authorities
  • Khaled Abu Arafa: Jerusalem affairs
  • Mohammed Bhargouti: labor
  • Atef Odwan: minister of state

Source: Khaled Abu Toameh, “Haniyeh presents Hamas-led cabinet,” The Jerusalem Post, (March 19, 2006); Associated Press, “List of members of new Palestinian Cabinet,” The Jerusalem Post, (March 20, 2006).