Countries Ineligible to Sit on the
United Nations Security Council


Countries Eligible To Sit on the
United Nations Security Council

Afghanistan Albania Algeria
Andorra Angola Antigua and Barbuda
Argentina Armenia Australia
Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas
Bahrain Bhutan Bolivia
Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Brazil
Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria Burkina Faso
Burundi Cambodia Cameroon
Canada Cape Verde Central African Republic
Chad Chile China
Colombia Comoro Islands Congo
Costa Rica Cote d'Ivoire Croatia
Cuba Cyprus Czech Republic
Democratic People's Republic of Korea Democratic Republic of the Congo
Denmark Djibouti Dominica
Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt
El Salvador Equatorial-Guinea Eritrea
Estonia Ethiopia Fiji
Finland France Gabon
Gambia Georgia Germany
Ghana Greece Grenada
Guatemala Guinea Guinea-Bissau
Guyana Haiti Honduras
Hungary Iceland India
Indonesia Iran Iraq
Ireland Italy Jamaica
Japan Jordan Kazakhstan
Kenya Kuwait Kyrgyzstan
Laos Latvia Lebanon
Lesotho Liberia Libya
Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg
Madagascar Malawi Malaysia
Maldives Mali Malta
Marshall Islands Mauritania Mauritius
Mexico Micronesia Moldova
Monaco Mongolia Morocco
Mozambique Myanmar Namibia
Nepal Netherlands New Zealand
Nicaragua Niger Nigeria
Norway Oman Pakistan
Palau Panama Papua New Guinea
Paraguay Peru Philippines
Poland Portugal Qatar
Republic of Korea Romania Russian Federation
Rwanda St. Kitts and Nevis St. Lucia St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Samoa San Marino Sao Tome´ and Principe
Saudi Arabia Senegal Seychelles
Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia
Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia
South Africa Spain Sri Lanka
Sudan Suriname Swaziland
Sweden Syria Tajikistan
Tanzania Thailand The Former Yugoslav
Republic of Macedonia Togo Trinidad and Tobago
Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan
Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates
United Kingdom United States Uruguay
Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela
Viet Nam Yemen Yugoslavia
Zambia Zimbabwe

Believe it or not, Israel is the only one of the 185 member countries ineligible to serve on the United Nations Security Council, the key deliberative group of the world body. Even Iraq is eligible. So is Iran. And so, too, are Cuba, Libya, North Korea, Sudan and Syria.

Why is it that these seven nations, all cited by the U.S. State Department as sponsors of terrorism, are eligible to serve rotating terms on the Security Council, yet Israel, a democratic nation and member of the UN since May 11, 1949, is not?

To be eligible for election, a country must belong to a regional group. Every UN member state—from the smallest to the largest—is included in one of the five regional groups. By geography, Israel should be part of the Asian bloc but such countries as Iraq and Saudi Arabia have prevented its entry for decades.

As a temporary measure, Israel has sought acceptance in the West European and Others Group (WEOG), which includes not only the democracies of Western Europe but also Australia, Canada, New Zealand, Turkey and the United States.

Here, too, despite the support of several countries, including the U.S., Israel still has not been admitted.

Thus, without membership in a regional group, Israel can never be elected to serve a term on the Security Council or, for that matter, to the other most important bodies of the UN system, such as the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC), the World Court, UNICEF and the Commission on Human Rights.

The Charter of the United Nations proclaims "the equal rights...of nations large and small." But only Israel, among all the UN members, is denied the right to belong to any regional group.

Source: American Jewish Committee