2006 Israel Prizes Given to 14 Laureates

(May 4, 2006)

The Israel Prize, the most prestigious award in Israel, was recently given to 14 new laureates who excelled in the fields of literature, music, sports, and other aspects of Israeli life. Awarding the prizes this year were President Moshe Katsav, Interim Prime Minister Ehud Olmert and Supreme Court President Aharon Barak.

Ya’acov Chodorov, 78, was a legendary goal keeper on Israel’s national team in the 1950s and 1960s, but could not attend the ceremony due to having suffered a mild stroke. Chodorov shared the award with basketball coach Ralph Klein, another Israeli sports legend who led the national basketball team to several victories in the 1970s and 1980s.

Lifetime achievement awards were given to author Dvora Omer; Adolf Schwimmer, one of the founders of Israel Aircraft Industries; and the Andalusian Orchestra for making a special contribution to society or the state.

Professor Ruth Lapidoth of Hebrew University and Professor Amnon Rubinstein, the president of the Herzliya Interdisciplinary Center, won prizes for their contribution in law. Professor Miriam Ben-Peretz, of Haifa University, and Professor Chaim Adler, of Hebrew University, won awards in education.

Hebrew University Professor Nachum Kedar received an award for agriculture, while his colleague, Professor Tzvi Rappaport, won the award for chemistry. In music, Professor Peninah Saltzman, a pianist, and Professor Mendy Rudin, a conductor, received awards. Professor Yaakov Blidstein of Ben-Gurion University received the prize for Jewish Studies.

Source: Tamara Traubmann, “Stroke keeps legendary goalkeeper from Israel Prize fete,” Ha’aretz, (May 4, 2006); JPost Staff