Join Our Mailing List

Israel Cabinet & Ministers:
Provisional Government

(May 14, 1948 - March 8, 1949)

Return to Cabinet & Ministers: Table of Contents

Print Friendly and PDF

The provisional government of Israel was a temporary cabinet group that governed the Jewish community in British Mandate Palestine and later the state of Israel.  The provisional government of Israel was formed on April 12 1948 and was in power until the formation of the first official government after Knesset elections in March 1949. 

David Ben-Gurion, Prime Minister and Minister of Defense

Eliezer Kaplan, Minister of Finance

Behor Shalom Shitrit, Minister of Police and Minorities

Yitzhak Greenbaum, Minister of the Interior

Ze'ev Sharef, Cabinet Secretary

Felix Rosenblueth, Minister of Justice

Moshe Shapira, Minister of Immigration and Health

Yitzhak Meir Levin, Minister of Social Welfare

Yehuda Maimon (Fishman), Minister of Religious Affairs and War Casualties

Peretz Bernstein, Minister of Trade, Industry and Supplies.

Mordechai Bentov, Minister of Labor and Construction

Aharon Zisling, Minister of Agriculture

David Remez, Minister of Transport

Moshe Shertok (Sharett), Foreign Minister

Sources: Israeli Foreign Ministry

Back to Top