The Ten Sefirot of the Kabbalah

An image map guide to the ten Sefirot of the Kabbalah


The Jewish mystical doctrine known as "Kabbalah" (="Tradition") is distinguished by its theory of ten creative forces that intervene between the infinite, unknowable God ("Ein Sof") and our created world.

Through these powers God created and rules the universe, and it is by influencing them that humans cause God to send to Earth forces of compassion (masculine, right side) or severe judgment (feminine, left side).

You can learn about the individual Sefirot by clicking on their pictures in the diagram above. If your browser cannot read Image Maps, you may access the files via the following menu:

  • Ein Sof, the Unknowable Infinite

  • Keter, the Divine Crown

  • Hokhmah, Wisdom

  • Binah, Understanding

  • Hesed, Mercy

  • Din, Justice

  • Tif'eret, Beauty

  • Nezah, Eternity

  • Hod, Glory

  • Yesod, Foundation

  • Shekhinah, The Shekhinah, God's Presence in the World

  • The Right Side

  • The Left Side

  • The Middle Column

  • Source: Prof. Eliezer Segal