Bookstore Glossary Library Links News Publications Timeline Virtual Israel Experience
Anti-Semitism Biography History Holocaust Israel Israel Education Myths & Facts Politics Religion Travel US & Israel Vital Stats Women
donate subscribe Contact About Home

Israeli Public Opinion Polls: Opinion on Settlements and Outposts

(2009 - Present)

In your opinion, will President Trump enable or not enable the Israeli government to build new settlements?
               (Peace Index, March 2017)

 

Israeli Jews

Israeli Arabs

General Public

I'm sure he will enable
it to do so

6.8%

53.3%

14.6%

I think he will enable
it to do so

47.8%

23.4%

43.7%

I think he will not enable
it to do so

29.1%

7.4%

25.5%

I'm sure he will not enable
it to do so

5.8%

6.3%

5.9%

Don't know

10.4%

9.5%

10.3%

Recently a number of Israeli politicians from the right have declared that with U.S. president Trump taking office, a new political era is beginning in our region as well, and Israel should exploit the opportunity to expand construction in considerable parts of Judea and Samaria/the West Bank. In your opinion, should Israel indeed expand construction at this time?
              (Peace Index, January 2017)

 

Israeli Jews

Israeli Arabs

General Public

I'm sure it should

20.5%

1.4%

17.3%

I think it should

24.8%

14.6%

23.1%

I think it should not

25.4%

6.1%

22.1%

I'm sure it should not

24.6%

71.8%

32.5%

Don't know

4.7%

6.1%

4.9%

In your opinion, under Trump’s administration will Israel be able to keep building in the settlements?
              (Peace Index, December 2016)

 

Israeli Jews

Israeli Arabs

General Public

I'm sure it will be

16.7%

60.1%

23.9%

I think it will be

54.4%

20.1%

48.7%

I think it will not be

14.6%

1.9%

12.5%

I'm sure it will not be

2.6%

9.1%

3.7%

Don't know

11.7%

8.8%

11.3%

In the wake of the Security Council’s condemnatory resolution, in your opinion should or should not Israel cease the construction in the territories?
              (Peace Index, December 2016)

 

Israeli Jews

Israeli Arabs

General Public

I'm sure it should not

35.8%

11.5%

31.8%

I think it should not

26.3%

8.1%

23.3%

I think it should

13.6%

9.2%

12.9%

I'm sure it should

15.6%

61.8%

23.3%

Don't know

8.6%

9.4%

8.8%

As far as you know, how many Jews now live in the West Bank/Judea and Samaria (not counting the neighborhoods of expanded Jerusalem such as Gilo or Pisgat Ze’ev)?
             (Peace Index, June 2016)

 

Israeli Jews

Israeli Arabs

General Public

100,000-250,000

27%

17%

25.4%

250,000-500,000

29.9%

39%

31.4%

500,000-750,000

12.9%

11.5%

12.7%

750,000-1,000,000

3.1%

5.5%

3.5%

Don't know

27%

27.1%

27%

As far as you know, how many Palestinians now live in the West Bank/Judea and Samaria (not counting East Jerusalem)?
             (Peace Index, June 2016)

 

Israeli Jews

Israeli Arabs

General Public

500,000-1,000,000

23.8%

10.6%

21.6%

1,000,000-2,000,000

35.9%

35.2%

35.8%

2,000,000-3,000,000

10.1%

17.2%

11.3%

>3,000,000

3%

18.5%

5.5%

Don't know

27.2%

18.4%

25.8%

Last week the residents of Britain voted in a referendum on whether to remain in or leave the European Union. They decided to leave. If a referendum were to be held in Israel today on whether, in principle, it is desirable to remain, as at present, in the West Bank/Judea and Samaria or to leave it, how would you vote?
             (Peace Index, June 2016)

 

Israeli Jews

Israeli Arabs

General Public

In favor of leaving the West Bank/Judea and Samaria

35.8%

69.2%

41.3%

Against

52.4%

23.7%

47.6%

Don't know

11.8%

7.2%

11.1%

Sometime after the Six Day War the settlement enterprise began to develop. In your opinion, from a perspective of 50 years later, has the settlement enterprise contributed to or damaged Israel’s national interest?
             (Peace Index, June 2016)

 

Israeli Jews

Israeli Arabs

General Public

I'm sure it has damaged it

11.3%

42.9%

16.6%

I think it has damaged it

28%

10.9%

25.2%

I think it has contributed to it

24.6%

16.2%

23.2%

I'm sure it has contributed to it

27%

24.8%

26.6%

Don't know

9.1%

5.3%

8.5%

In your opinion, is it right or not right to define Israel’s control of the territories as an “occupation”?
             (Peace Index, April 2016)

 

Israeli Jews

Israeli Arabs

General Public

I'm sure it is

12%

69.7%

21.6%

I think it is

10.7%

1.8%

9.3%

I think it isn't

21.6%

1.1%

18.2%

I'm sure it isn't

49.9%

14.2%

44%

Don't know

5.7%

13.2%

7%

Next year will mark the 50th anniversary of the Six Day War. Some claim that the time has come for Israel to formally annex all the territories conquered in the war that it still holds. Do you support or oppose this?
             (Peace Index, January 2016)

 

Israeli Jews 

Strongly support

25%

Somewhat support

20.3%

Somewhat oppose

19.4%

Strongly oppose

25.4%

Don't know

10%

Some claim that because of the extensive Israeli building in the territories and the growth of the settlements, there is no possibility of evacuating most of the Israelis from Judea and Samaria and therefore any agreement that is signed, if it is signed, will have to take into account the fact that at least the large settlement blocs will remain under Israeli sovereignty. What is your opinion on this claim?
             (Peace Index, September 2015)

 

Israeli Jews

Israeli Arabs

General Public

Strongly agree

40.4%

26.6%

38.1%

Moderately agree

27.2%

15.6%

25.3%

Moderately disagree

12%

9.4%

11.6%

Strongly Disagree

11.8%

27.8%

14.5%

Don't know

8.6%

20.5%

10.6%

Do you support or oppose the dismantling of settlements in the West Bank?
              (PCPSR, June 2015)

 

Israelis

Support

38%

Oppose

54%

What is the impact of continued Jewish settlement building on Israel's security?
              (Pew Research, May 2013)

 

Total

Israeli Jews

Israeli Arabs

Helps Security

27%

31%

4%

Hurts Security

42%

35%

84%

Makes No Difference

23%

27%

2%

Don't Know

8%

8%

10%

Which of the following steps should Israel take with regard to construction in the settlements?
              (Truman/PCPSR, October 2010)

Full Construction Freeze

23.3%

Construction Only in Blocs To Remain
under Israeli Rule in Future

39.0%

Unliminited Construction

31.3%

Don't Know

6.3%

Do you support or oppose dismantling most of the settlements in the territories as part of a peace agreement with the Palestinians?
              (Truman/PCPSR, October 2010)

Support

45.2%

Oppose

45.9%

Don't know

8.8%

Should Israel agree to extend the settlement construction freeze?
              (Dahaf, September 2010)

Yes

39%

No

54%

Note: Poll included Arab Israelis.

Should construction in the territories be renewed? (IMRA, September 2010)

Everywhere

38.6%

Only in blocs

25.1%

Continue freeze

21.0%

Will Binyamin Netanyahu's decision to impose the freeze increase or reduce pressure on Israel to make additional concessions? (Maagar Mohot, December 2009)

Reduce

22%

Increase

56%

No effect on the pressure

17%

Other replies/don't know

5%

Do you think the freeze will actually last only ten months or will Netanyahu continue the freeze indefinitely? (Maagar Mohot, December 2009)

Just ten months

33%

Continue indefinitely

40%

Other replies/don't know

27%

Do you support or oppose the dismantling of most of the settlements in the West Bank as part of a peace agreement with the Palestinians? (Truman Institute/PCPSR, December 2009)

Support

49%

Oppose

43%

Do you support or oppose a freeze on construction in the West Bank settlements? (Truman Institute/PCPSR, December 2009)

Support

49%

Oppose

42%

Do you support or oppose the removal of illegal settlement posts in the West Bank? (Truman Institute/PCPSR, December 2009)

Support

58%

Oppose

32%

Do you support or oppose the refusal of IDF soldiers to serve in the West Bank? (Truman Institute/PCPSR, December 2009)

Support

27%

Oppose

66%

Do you support or oppose the evacuation of unauthorized outposts? (Shvakim Panorama for Israel Radio's Hakol Diburim, June 4, 2009)

For

40.1%

Against

40.4%

Don't know

19.5%

Do you support or oppose the American demand for a halt to construction in Judea and Samaria? (Shvakim Panorama for Israel Radio's Hakol Diburim, June 4, 2009)

Support

29.5%

Oppose

55.6%

Don't know

17.9%

Should the Government evacuate unauthorized outposts? (Geocartography Knowledge Group, June 3, 2009)

Yes

40%

No

51%

No opinion

9%

Should the Government meet the American request to freeze settlements? (Geocartography Knowledge Group, June 3, 2009)

Yes

40%

No

51%

Don't know

9%

Should Israel agree to evacuate illegal outposts and isolated settlements located in the heart of the Palestinian population if a peace agreement between Israel and the Palestinians depended on it? (War and Peace Index, May 2009)

Yes

53%

No

29%

Should Israel should agree to evacuate all settlements if a peace agreement between Israel and the Palestinians depended on it? (War and Peace Index, May 2009)

Yes

41%

No

53%

Do settlements serve or weaken Israel's interests? (War and Peace Index, May 2009)

Weaken

48%

Serve

43%